Child Support in Maine: How does Maine child support work?
Parents in Maine have the obligation of supporting their children financially whether they are together or separated. Child support in Maine follows the “income shares model”. In child support cases in Maine, the judge presiding over the case determines the financial support by examining what each parent spent on the child while living together as a family.
The financial number that the judge calculates is in line with each parent’s income. The calculations lead to the final child support amount that must be paid by the parents. Parents are responsible for a percentage of the total support calculation which is based on their income share. Child support in Maine is very similar to what other states use.
How is child support in Maine calculated?
In the “income shares model”, the parent who earns more money is responsible to pay more child support than the parent who earns less. For example, if Parent A earns $700 per week and Parent B makes $300 a week, Parent A is responsible for 70% of Maine child support. Parent B is then responsible for 30% of the support total.
The custody arrangement and child visitation rights schedule are impacted by child support. The custodial parent will often receive child support while the noncustodial parent pays the support amount.
The custodial parent is the parent that has primary custody of the child. The noncustodial parent is the one who spends less time with the child, typically less than 50% of the time. The noncustodial parent makes monthly payments to the custodial parent as it is assumed the custodial parent covers the day-to-day costs of taking care of the child. Therefore, they pay an equivalent amount or more on child’s upbringing.
What impacts the amount of child support in Maine?
A parent’s Maine child support payments can increase as the age of the child increases. Maine’s legislature realized the amount of money it costs to raise a teenager is higher than it is to take care of a kid under the age of 12. Age can impact the monthly child support payment a noncustodial parent must pay.
To understand and calculate the amount of money a parent must pay in child support, each parent’s gross income must be taken into account. A parent’s gross income generally takes into account pretax income such as commissions, wages, disability payments, self-employment wages, military payment, investment incomes, and pensions.
When does child support in Maine end?
If a parent wants to change the child support order, they must display a substantial change in their financial circumstances. They can also show significant changes in the other parent’s financial earnings to increase payments. The amount of money must vary by 15% for a change in the existing Maine child support order to be modified.
Child support payments in Maine end when the child turns 18-years-old. In some instances, the child support order can be extended until the child’s 19th birthday. An extension can be given if there are special circumstances surrounding the child or is still in high school.